Cowboys add OT Isaac Alarcon from Mexico

Dallas Cowboys new head coach Mike McCarthy speaks as Dallas Cowboys executive vice president Stephen Jones (left) and Dallas Cowboys owner and general manager Jerry Jones (right) listen during a press conference in the Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, on Wednesday, January 8, 2020. The Cowboys can carry a 13th player on their 12-man practice squad next season.

Isaac Alarcon, an offensive tackle based in Monterrey, Mexico, was added Monday to the roster as part of the NFL’s International Pathway Program. He is eligible for an exemption spot on the team’s practice squad following training camp.

The league, as part of its continued effort to build an international footprint, has worked to create opportunities in America for the sport’s players abroad.

Alarcon is slated to develop with the Cowboys in training camp.

He then can remain with the organization during the season without consuming a spot that would have been assigned elsewhere.

According to an NFL release, Alarcon represented Mexico at the U-19 World Championships. He played left and right tackle for the Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education while part of the university’s national championship team in 2019.

Cowboys undrafted rookies: On Monday, the Cowboys confirmed a number of pending transactions when announcing the 15 undrafted rookies with whom the team reached contract agreements following the Saturday conclusion of the three-day NFL draft.

Physicals must be completed before any contract is formalized.

Nine of the 15 players are on offense: wide receiver Stephen Guidry, Mississippi State; wide receiver Aaron Parker, Rhode Island; wide receiver Kendrick Rogers, Texas A&M; running back Darius Anderson, TCU; running back Rico Dowdle, South Carolina; full back Sewo Olonilua, TCU; tight end Sean McKeon, Michigan; tight end Charlie Taumoepeau, Portland State; offensive tackle Terence Steele, Texas Tech.

The other six are on defense: defensive end Ron’Dell Carter, James Madison; defensive end LaDarius Hamilton, North Texas; defensive tackle Garrett Marino, UAB; linebacker Francis Bernard, Utah; linebacker Azur Kamara, Kansas; and, safety Luther Kirk, Illinois State.